An Agency of

National Quality Awards

You are here


The National Quality Awards (NQA) Programme is Jamaica’s first quality systems-based awards programme. It seeks to recognize and reward local companies that demonstrate the application of standards and quality systems in both the production of goods and the delivery of services.

In 2004, the Bureau of Standards Jamaica (BSJ) through the Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce, launched the NQA Programme. It was envisioned as a national medium for business excellence, to highlight and promote the competitiveness of Jamaican products and services. In honour of its 10th anniversary and in response to customer feedback, the NQA Programme was evaluated and strengthened in 2014. This has resulted in the programme being restructured to a biennial cycle.

The National Quality Awards are presented to successful companies at an official ceremony and banquet to be held in October 2024, as part of the World Standards Day celebrations.

World Standards Day is celebrated each year to pay tribute to the efforts of thousands of experts worldwide who collaborate within International Standards Setting Bodies to develop international standards that facilitate trade, share knowledge and disseminate technological advances.

The NQA Programme is open to entities operating in the following:

1. Manufacturing Sector
2. Service Sector (Financial, Hospitality, Real Estate and Professional Services)
3. Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
4. Agriculture

For the purposes of the NQA Programme, these sectors are defined as follows:


1. Manufacturing Sector:
These are companies involved in the physical or chemical transformation of materials, substances or components into new products. Materials, substances or components are products of agricultural, forestry, fishing, mining or quarrying or other manufacturing activities.

This sector includes activities involving the substantial alteration, renovation or reconstruction of goods.


2. Service Sector:

These are companies that earn revenue through providing intangible products and services. Activities in this sector include retail, banks, hotels, real estate, education, health, social work, computer services, recreation, media, communications, electricity, gas and water supply.


3. Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Sector:

These are enterprises that are involved in the small-scale production of goods and/or services for sale.

Enterprises qualify if they carry:

• Micro – fewer than 5 employees with a total annual turnover of less than or equal to J$15 million;1
• Small – greater than 5 but less than or equal to 20 employees and an annual turnover of more than J$15M but less than J$75M;
• Medium – 21 to 50 employees with a capital base of less than J$425M

4. Agriculture Sector:

This sector includes farming which refers to the primary producers of livestock, poultry, fish, and crops. This sector is now divided into two categories, i.e. small farms ≤5 acres and large farms ˃5 acres.


The National Quality Awards Programme:


  • Provides a comprehensive assessment of companies using criteria designed to assist organizations with using a more structured approach to organizational performance management.
  • Recognizes Jamaican companies that have successfully implemented quality systems.
  • Facilitates the improvement of overall organizational effectiveness and efficiency.
  • Promotes an awareness of performance excellence as an increasingly important element for enhancing the competitiveness of Jamaican businesses.

Eligibility Criteria

The NQA criteria provide a framework which any organization can use to improve its overall performance.

General Entry and Evaluation Criteria

All applicants must also meet the following eligibility requirements:

• A valid Tax Compliance Certificate
• Be registered with the Companies Office of Jamaica
• Be registered with the Bureau of Standards Jamaica or a relevant Regulatory Body, (if applicable)
• Filed Statutory Payments, G.C.T Payments and Annual Returns

All companies must have at least one of the following by the close of the application period:

a) Documented Standard Operating Procedures
b) Quality Manual/Policy Manual
c) Best Practices Manual
d) On-farm records
e) Farm Safety Plan
f) Good Agricultural Practices Manual


List of Awards Categories

The following five categories make up the award criteria and areas to be assessed during the audit:

• Organizational Focus
• Customer Focus
• Human Resource Focus
• Process Management
• Business Results

The application period for the National Quality Awards (NQA) Programme opens on 02 January 2024.

Companies interested in applying for the National Quality Awards may download the requisite sector-specific forms in the table below. For further information or assistance, you may contact Mrs. Cecelia Johnson Rowe at


National Quality Awards Application Forms



Application Form

Sample Self-Assessment Checklist


NQA Application Form (Introductory Package)

Sample Self-Assessment


Micro, Small & Medium



National Quality Awards Programme Dates


Time Frame

Application Period

02 January 2024 – 31 March 2024

Assessment Period

01 May 2024 – 31 June 2024

NQA Ceremony Date

October 2024


Contact us

For further information or assistance, you may contact Mrs. Cecelia Johnson Rowe via email at or via telephone at (876) 303-0821.


6 Winchester Road,
P.O. Box 113,
Kingston 10

Tel: (876) 618-1534; (876) 926-3140-5; (876) 632-4275
Fax: (876)-929-4736

The UGI Building
1st Floor
30-34 Market Street
Montego Bay
St. James
Tel: (876)-952-7119/(876)-952-7119

103 Main Street
Ocho Rios
St. Ann
Tel: (876)-795-1965/(876)-795-1965


Shop # 15
62 Great Georges Street
Savannah-La-Mar P.O.
Tel: (876)-918-1652/






Contact Us

Bureau of Standards Jamaica
6 Winchester Road, Kingston 10, Jamaica
Tel: (876) 618-1534, (876) 632-4275


Logo Placement

An Agency of: